Blog module icon

Displaying all posts tagged with:

'recommendations'

Nov 20

Stories from Behind the Scenes by Genesis Gaule

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on November 20, 2020 at 1:41 PM by Genesis Gaule

One of my favorite parts of home movie releases are the special features--especially the behind-the-scenes segments with the cast and crew. I love seeing who is behind iconic characters, their creative process, and what didn't make it to the final cut. So, let's take a look behind the scenes at a few of my childhood staples and the actors who brought these iconic characters to life.

As You Wish by Cary Elwes

Inconceivable tales from the making of The Princess Bride

Written and wonderfully narrated by Westley himself, Cary Elwes, As You Wish is a first-person account of the making of The Princess Bride. Along with interviews from the cast and crew, Elwes takes us from casting call to filming to home release, weaving in production details, bloopers, and insight into the people behind this cult classic. Humorous and heartwarming, the book overflows with genuine affection for the experiences had during the making of the film. For fans of The Princess Bride, I can't recommend this book enough!

Confessions of a Prairie Bitch by Alison Arngrim

How I survived Nellie Oleson and learned to love being hated

With biting wit and stark honesty, Arngrim details her life (as well as a little behind-the-scenes gossip) on the set of Little House on the Prairie and how playing one of the most hated characters on television shaped who she is today. But off the set, Arngrim was struggling. Painfully shy and plagued with sexual abuse from her older brother, Arngrim found a strength and stability in Nellie she sorely needed in her life.

I am Big Bird

The Caroll Spinney story
DVD | NR (Suggested audience 13 and up) | 1h 30m

i-am-big-bird

It has always seemed magical to me, the way a good puppeteer is able to make you believe that a bit of foam and wire is a living breathing creature. Truly great puppeteers even make you forget the puppeteer is present at all. Caroll Spinney was one such person. Covering a large swath of Spinney’s life and work--his triumphs and tribulations--I Am Big Bird gives the viewer a glimpse into the man behind the muppet and is uplifting homage to a person who’s touched countless lives.

Won't You Be My Neighbor

DVD | PG-13 | 1h 34m

Wont-You-Be-My-Neighbor

Mixing footage from the iconic public television show Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood and interviews with friends, family, and colleagues, this touching tribute poignantly reminds us of the overwhelming good Rogers gave to this world while also gently humanizing this legendary figure. Fred Rogers was a man who lived his life with grace, kindness, and integrity--on and off the screen--even in the midst of his own struggles. I think, especially now, those are good things to be reminded of and emulate in our own lives.

 

Nov 13

My Favorites by Acacia James

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on November 13, 2020 at 2:17 PM by Genesis Gaule

Have you ever had a book that has stuck with you even after you’re done reading it? It might be a compelling plot, an epic fight scene, or even just the first sentence of a book that has always kept you hooked. I certainly have! This is one of the best things about books, at least in my opinion. When a book is so amazing that you can’t forget about it even months later that is a great book. I’m going to share some of my favorites from some books that I have read and absolutely loved!

Favorite First Sentence: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

“The early summer sky was the color of cat vomit.”

This sentence stopped me in my tracks the second I read it. It caught me so off guard I didn’t know what to do. It immediately made me imagine that image in my head and it almost made me laugh out loud. In all of my time of reading, no book has made me stop and think so much by the first sentence. I read this series of books in the 8th grade, and I am a senior in high school now, but this sentence has still stayed with me.

Favorite Character Arc: Shatter Me by Tahererh Mafi

Aaron Warner

Throughout the series, my favorite character arc is that of Aaron Warner. I love his arc so much! If I had just read the first book and you were to describe how the end of series Aaron was to me, I would have been dumbfounded. There was absolutely no way that I would have predicted how he turned out. I won’t spoil too much because you should really read this series (It’s my favorite!), but the author Tahererh Mafi has a way with character development that I absolutely love!

Also available in ebook

Favorite Descriptive Book: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

“The towering tents are striped in white and black, no golds and crimsons to be seen. No color at all, save for the neighboring trees and the grass of the surrounding fields. Black-and-white stripes on grey sky; countless tents of varying shapes and sizes, with an elaborate wrought-iron fence encasing them in a colorless world. Even what little ground is visible from outside is black or white, painted or powdered, or treated with some other circus trick. [...] You stand in the fading light, the scarf around your neck pulled up against the chilly evening breeze, waiting to see for yourself exactly what kind of circus only opens once the sun sets.”

For description alone, I love this book. It is a beautifully descriptive love story. This is the most detailed book I have ever read. The scenes are enticing and imaginative. They are so exquisite, that you can visualize and see everything in your head. This is also the only book, because of it’s expert description, that I have ever read that uses the 2nd perspective. That is when the author is putting the reader into the story.

Also available in ebook

I could talk more about some of my favorites, but alas, I can only write so much. Instead, I urge you to ponder about some of your favorites. If you can, write a comment down below and tell us some of your favorites, and if not us, tell your friends! It can be your favorite beginning, ending, fight scene, surprice, setting and a whole lot more. The possibilities are endless.

Oct 16

Spooky Season Reading Recommendations by Andrea Lorenz

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on October 16, 2020 at 3:10 PM by Genesis Gaule

Even though I am a huge wimp, I still love to dip my toe into horror stories this time of year. There’s something about the fall -- the skeletal trees, the gusts of wind rustling leaves on the ground, the chill in the air -- that draws me to the spooky. Lucky for me, and for you, we’ve got a wide range of horror – titles for those who want the mildest of scares all the way up to hardcore scary gore-core. If you’re looking to dip your toe in too here are a few titles that are my Goldilocks level of horror (not too tame, not too scary, just right).

Wanderers by Chuck Wendig

(Science Fiction WENDIG) Chuck Wendig weaves a tale that is oh-so-prescient in Wanderers. A young girl gets out of bed one morning and starts walking. She doesn’t talk or respond, just walks. And soon others join her. A flock of sleepwalkers begins a cross-country journey, no stops for food or rest, just a relentless push forward. They’re protected by “shepherds” – family and friends who follow the flock, determined to find out what’s wrong, determined to protect them. For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it.

The Outsider by Stephen King

(Mystery KING | eAudiobook) When Flint City’s beloved Little League Coach, Terry Maitland is implicated in a gruesome crime, the whole city reels. Terry Maitland, the English teacher, a murderer? No one can believe it. Though Maitland has an alibi, Detective Ralph Anderson orders a quick arrest – he has Terry’s DNA all over the scene. As the investigation expands and evidence proving Maitland’s alibi surfaces, more questions than answers emerge. How can one person be in the same place at the same time? I was drawn to The Outsider by its description of a confounding murder investigation, but I stuck with it as it twisted into a search for a supernatural predator. (And Holly Gibney – you’ll want to meet Holly Gibney!)

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

(eBook) If you like a little humor with your horror, check out the Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix. When a mysterious and handsome stranger moves into Patricia Campbell’s quiet neighborhood in Charleston, she’s intrigued. The only other exciting thing in Patricia’s life is her book club, a group of Charleston mothers united only by their love for true crime and suspenseful fiction. But when some local children go missing, Patricia begins to suspect that the newcomer might be involved. She begins her own investigation and uncovers something much more horrifying than she had anticipated.

Honorable mentions: