Blog module icon

Displaying all posts tagged with:

'movies'

Dec 11

YA Books Coming to the Big Screen by Miranda Millette

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on December 11, 2020 at 1:31 PM by Genesis Gaule

One of the best things is finding out that your favorite book will be coming to life as a movie or TV show. Here are some of my favorite young adult books that are coming to the big screen!

Chaos Walking series by Patrick Ness

chaos-walking

Series Available in book | e-book

This series kept me on the edge of my seat! About a boy named Todd and his dog Manchee, the story takes place on a planet in the future where a mysterious germ killed all the women and affected all of the men, making it so that you can hear all of their thoughts. But things aren’t what they seem, as Todd discovers when he finds a girl, Viola. The movie adaptation is slated to be released in January and stars Spider-Man actor Tom Holland and Star Wars actress Daisy Ridley.

Shadow and Bone/Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

shadow-and-bone

Shadow and Bone available in book
Six of Crows available in book

These two lush, amazing fantasy series both tie together in the same universe. Shadow and Bone is about Alina Starkov, a girl who unleashes a magic she didn’t know she had and then is taken to train with the Grisha, the country’s magical military elite. Six of Crows is about a group of six outcasts who come together to pull off an impossible heist. Filming was just done to make these two book series into a Netflix TV show, and it doesn’t yet have a release date.

Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

percy-jackson

Series Available in book | e-book

This series is an amazing story full of lovable characters and humor. About Percy and his adventures as the son of the Greek sea god Poseidon, him and his friends face monsters, gods, and other figures of Greek mythology. Besides already being made into two movies, those who have read the Percy Jackson books know that the movies had the potential to be much better, so Percy Jackson is currently being adapted into a TV show for Disney with Rick Riordan himself directly involved in the process.

(P.S. Netflix is said to be adapting Rick Riordan’s Kane Chronicles series as well which is about Egyptian mythology!)

The Selection by Kiera Cass

the-seleciton-netflix

Series Available in book | e-book

This fairy-tale romance is one I never get tired of. The Selection is the chance of a lifetime for 35 girls who get to compete for the crown and Prince Maxon’s heart. But America Singer wants no part in it—having to turn her back on her secret love with Aspen when she’s Selected—until she meets Maxon. This book has been picked up by many producers to no avail but will finally (hopefully!) become a movie under Netflix in the coming years.

Nov 20

Stories from Behind the Scenes by Genesis Gaule

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on November 20, 2020 at 1:41 PM by Genesis Gaule

One of my favorite parts of home movie releases are the special features--especially the behind-the-scenes segments with the cast and crew. I love seeing who is behind iconic characters, their creative process, and what didn't make it to the final cut. So, let's take a look behind the scenes at a few of my childhood staples and the actors who brought these iconic characters to life.

As You Wish by Cary Elwes

Inconceivable tales from the making of The Princess Bride

Written and wonderfully narrated by Westley himself, Cary Elwes, As You Wish is a first-person account of the making of The Princess Bride. Along with interviews from the cast and crew, Elwes takes us from casting call to filming to home release, weaving in production details, bloopers, and insight into the people behind this cult classic. Humorous and heartwarming, the book overflows with genuine affection for the experiences had during the making of the film. For fans of The Princess Bride, I can't recommend this book enough!

Confessions of a Prairie Bitch by Alison Arngrim

How I survived Nellie Oleson and learned to love being hated

With biting wit and stark honesty, Arngrim details her life (as well as a little behind-the-scenes gossip) on the set of Little House on the Prairie and how playing one of the most hated characters on television shaped who she is today. But off the set, Arngrim was struggling. Painfully shy and plagued with sexual abuse from her older brother, Arngrim found a strength and stability in Nellie she sorely needed in her life.

I am Big Bird

The Caroll Spinney story
DVD | NR (Suggested audience 13 and up) | 1h 30m

i-am-big-bird

It has always seemed magical to me, the way a good puppeteer is able to make you believe that a bit of foam and wire is a living breathing creature. Truly great puppeteers even make you forget the puppeteer is present at all. Caroll Spinney was one such person. Covering a large swath of Spinney’s life and work--his triumphs and tribulations--I Am Big Bird gives the viewer a glimpse into the man behind the muppet and is uplifting homage to a person who’s touched countless lives.

Won't You Be My Neighbor

DVD | PG-13 | 1h 34m

Wont-You-Be-My-Neighbor

Mixing footage from the iconic public television show Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood and interviews with friends, family, and colleagues, this touching tribute poignantly reminds us of the overwhelming good Rogers gave to this world while also gently humanizing this legendary figure. Fred Rogers was a man who lived his life with grace, kindness, and integrity--on and off the screen--even in the midst of his own struggles. I think, especially now, those are good things to be reminded of and emulate in our own lives.

 

Sep 25

But is the movie really better? by Michelle Flaws

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on September 25, 2020 at 1:34 PM by Genesis Gaule

Recently I found myself scrolling through all of the newest book adaptations available on Netflix. Young adult novels are really having a moment--which got me thinking about some of my favorites. Some readers may argue with some of my choices but polling my coworkers on their picks was entertaining because we all appreciate different genres and their adaptations

So what movies made it onto the good list?

What about the bad?

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne was filmed in 1995 with Gary Oldman and Demi Moore, in one word: embarrassing. The adaptation miserably failed to portray the suspense and restraint behind this forbidden love story. Eragon by Christopher Paolini hit the big screen in 2006 and despite having seasoned actors and a well established production company, it left the fans much to desire. The costumes, the special effects and the dialogue did not match the thrill we felt when reading the novel for the first time.

The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells received a second screen adaptation in 1996 with Marlon Brando, Val Kilmer and David Thewlis playing titular characters. Filming and production on this movie was notorious for setbacks and crew disagreements; did the heat from filming on location render them unproductive? The movie lacks the ability to demonstrate the horror that is a man toying with nature to create hybrid creatures. While the story is supposed to be disturbing, this remake leaves much to be desired. Every time I think of Marlon Brando wearing white face paint and a giant kaftan I face-palm.

What about those adaptations that have inconsistencies with its novel counterpart but are still worth seeing in the movie theatre?

Here are some recommendations:

Watch them and compare! Decide for yourself and become a fan of the book and the movie!