Blog module icon

Displaying all posts tagged with:

'celebrities'

Nov 20

Stories from Behind the Scenes by Genesis Gaule

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on November 20, 2020 at 1:41 PM by Genesis Gaule

One of my favorite parts of home movie releases are the special features--especially the behind-the-scenes segments with the cast and crew. I love seeing who is behind iconic characters, their creative process, and what didn't make it to the final cut. So, let's take a look behind the scenes at a few of my childhood staples and the actors who brought these iconic characters to life.

As You Wish by Cary Elwes

Inconceivable tales from the making of The Princess Bride

Written and wonderfully narrated by Westley himself, Cary Elwes, As You Wish is a first-person account of the making of The Princess Bride. Along with interviews from the cast and crew, Elwes takes us from casting call to filming to home release, weaving in production details, bloopers, and insight into the people behind this cult classic. Humorous and heartwarming, the book overflows with genuine affection for the experiences had during the making of the film. For fans of The Princess Bride, I can't recommend this book enough!

Confessions of a Prairie Bitch by Alison Arngrim

How I survived Nellie Oleson and learned to love being hated

With biting wit and stark honesty, Arngrim details her life (as well as a little behind-the-scenes gossip) on the set of Little House on the Prairie and how playing one of the most hated characters on television shaped who she is today. But off the set, Arngrim was struggling. Painfully shy and plagued with sexual abuse from her older brother, Arngrim found a strength and stability in Nellie she sorely needed in her life.

I am Big Bird

The Caroll Spinney story
DVD | NR (Suggested audience 13 and up) | 1h 30m

i-am-big-bird

It has always seemed magical to me, the way a good puppeteer is able to make you believe that a bit of foam and wire is a living breathing creature. Truly great puppeteers even make you forget the puppeteer is present at all. Caroll Spinney was one such person. Covering a large swath of Spinney’s life and work--his triumphs and tribulations--I Am Big Bird gives the viewer a glimpse into the man behind the muppet and is uplifting homage to a person who’s touched countless lives.

Won't You Be My Neighbor

DVD | PG-13 | 1h 34m

Wont-You-Be-My-Neighbor

Mixing footage from the iconic public television show Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood and interviews with friends, family, and colleagues, this touching tribute poignantly reminds us of the overwhelming good Rogers gave to this world while also gently humanizing this legendary figure. Fred Rogers was a man who lived his life with grace, kindness, and integrity--on and off the screen--even in the midst of his own struggles. I think, especially now, those are good things to be reminded of and emulate in our own lives.

 

Nov 09

Book Notes 11/9/2020

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on November 9, 2020 at 2:37 PM by Genesis Gaule

Open books and the words book notes

11/9/2020


The Campbell Library is open to the public Tuesdays (9am-7pm) and Fridays (9am-5pm). We also offer Front Door Pick Up and half hour appointments for browsing or computer use Mondays and Wednesdays (9am-5pm), and Thursdays (9am-7pm).

The Book of Gutsy Women by Hillary Rodham Clinton & Chelsea Clinton

Favorite Stories of Courage and Resilience // This book includes many courageous women who stood up to the status quo and asked the hard questions, overcoming the toughest resistance imaginable to win victories that have made progress possible for all of us.

Memorial Drive by Natasha Trethewey

Natasha’s world turned upside down when her former stepfather shot and killed her mother. Grieving in the aftermath of trauma, she now explores the way this experience lastingly shaped the artist she became.

Strike Me Down by Mindy Mejia

Nora catches thieves as a forensic accountant and partner in her downtown Minneapolis firm. When the $20 million prize money for a major kickboxing tournament goes missing, Nora is hired for the case and things turn deadly.

The Unraveling of Cassidy Holmes by Elissa R. Sloan

Gloss was the pop act everyone idolized, until their sudden implosion in 2002. At the center of it all was Sassy Cassy. But now she’s dead. Suicide. The world is reeling, especially the three remaining Glossies.


If you need help accessing any of these titles or using front door pickup, email or call us and we will be happy to assist you!

View Book Notes PDF archive

Oct 19

Book Notes 10/19/2020

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on October 19, 2020 at 2:19 PM by Genesis Gaule

Open books and the words book notes

10/19/2020


The Campbell Library is open to the public Tuesdays (9am-7pm) and Fridays (9am-5pm). We also offer Front Door Pick Up and half hour appointments for browsing or computer use Mondays and Wednesdays (9am-5pm), and Thursdays (9am-7pm).


Finding Freedom by Omid Scobie and Carolyn Durand

Harry and Meghan and the making of a modern royal family // The romance between the English prince and American actress captured the world’s attention, and Meghan and Harry continue to make headlines. Scobie and Durand, select reporters on the British Royal Family, go beyond the rumors in this book.

Into the planet : my life as a cave diver by Jill Heinerth

Heinerth—the first person to dive into an Antarctic iceberg and leader of a team that discovered the ancient watery remains of Mayan civilizations—takes us face-to-face with the terror and beauty of earth’s oceans.

Hella by David Gerrold

Hella is a planet where everything is oversized—especially the ambitions of the colonists. When an overburdened starship arrives, Kyle finds himself as the link between the colonists and the refugees from a ravaged Earth.

The Englisch Daughter by Cindy Woodsmall and Erin Woodsmall

Old Order Amish Jemima has put her marriage and family ahead of herself for years. When she finds out that her life savings are gone and her husband was hiding a child with another woman, her entire world is shattered.


If you need help accessing any of these titles or using front door pickup, email or call us and we will be happy to assist you!

View Book Notes PDF archive