Blog module icon

Displaying all posts tagged with:

'autobiography'

Dec 07

Book Notes 12/6/2020

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on December 7, 2020 at 10:16 AM by Genesis Gaule

Open books and the words book notes

12/7/2020


The Campbell Library is open to the public Tuesdays (9am-7pm) and Fridays (9am-5pm). We also offer Front Door Pick Up and half hour appointments for browsing or computer use Mondays and Wednesdays (9am-5pm), and Thursdays (9am-7pm).


The Socrates Express by Eric Weiner

In Search of Life Lessons from Dead Philosophers // Weiner goes on a pilgrimage, traveling by train (the most thoughtful mode of transport), to uncover the surprising life lessons from great thinkers around the world and reconnect with philosophy’s original purpose: leading a wiser, more meaningful life.

Officer Clemmons by Dr. François S. Clemmons

This book tells the incredible life story of Clemmons who made history as the first African American to have a recurring role in a children’s program, playing Officer Clemmons in Mister Rogers' Neighborhood.

Honeysuckle Season by Mary Ellen Taylor

honeysuckle season

Adrift in the wake of her father’s death, Libby feels truly alone. When asked to photograph the historic Woodmont estate, Libby is immediately drawn to an old greenhouse with generations of secrets buried beneath the honeysuckle vines.

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, glamorous debutante Noemí heads to the distant High Place in the Mexican countryside and soon finds it impossible to leave the terrifying yet seductive world behind.


If you need help accessing any of these titles or using front door pickup, email or call us and we will be happy to assist you!

View Book Notes PDF archive

Nov 20

Stories from Behind the Scenes by Genesis Gaule

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on November 20, 2020 at 1:41 PM by Genesis Gaule

One of my favorite parts of home movie releases are the special features--especially the behind-the-scenes segments with the cast and crew. I love seeing who is behind iconic characters, their creative process, and what didn't make it to the final cut. So, let's take a look behind the scenes at a few of my childhood staples and the actors who brought these iconic characters to life.

As You Wish by Cary Elwes

Inconceivable tales from the making of The Princess Bride

Written and wonderfully narrated by Westley himself, Cary Elwes, As You Wish is a first-person account of the making of The Princess Bride. Along with interviews from the cast and crew, Elwes takes us from casting call to filming to home release, weaving in production details, bloopers, and insight into the people behind this cult classic. Humorous and heartwarming, the book overflows with genuine affection for the experiences had during the making of the film. For fans of The Princess Bride, I can't recommend this book enough!

Confessions of a Prairie Bitch by Alison Arngrim

How I survived Nellie Oleson and learned to love being hated

With biting wit and stark honesty, Arngrim details her life (as well as a little behind-the-scenes gossip) on the set of Little House on the Prairie and how playing one of the most hated characters on television shaped who she is today. But off the set, Arngrim was struggling. Painfully shy and plagued with sexual abuse from her older brother, Arngrim found a strength and stability in Nellie she sorely needed in her life.

I am Big Bird

The Caroll Spinney story
DVD | NR (Suggested audience 13 and up) | 1h 30m

i-am-big-bird

It has always seemed magical to me, the way a good puppeteer is able to make you believe that a bit of foam and wire is a living breathing creature. Truly great puppeteers even make you forget the puppeteer is present at all. Caroll Spinney was one such person. Covering a large swath of Spinney’s life and work--his triumphs and tribulations--I Am Big Bird gives the viewer a glimpse into the man behind the muppet and is uplifting homage to a person who’s touched countless lives.

Won't You Be My Neighbor

DVD | PG-13 | 1h 34m

Wont-You-Be-My-Neighbor

Mixing footage from the iconic public television show Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood and interviews with friends, family, and colleagues, this touching tribute poignantly reminds us of the overwhelming good Rogers gave to this world while also gently humanizing this legendary figure. Fred Rogers was a man who lived his life with grace, kindness, and integrity--on and off the screen--even in the midst of his own struggles. I think, especially now, those are good things to be reminded of and emulate in our own lives.

 

Oct 26

Book Notes 10/26/2020

Posted to Campbell Unclassified on October 26, 2020 at 9:27 AM by Genesis Gaule

Open books and the words book notes

10/26/2020


The Campbell Library is open to the public Tuesdays (9am-7pm) and Fridays (9am-5pm). We also offer Front Door Pick Up and half hour appointments for browsing or computer use Mondays and Wednesdays (9am-5pm), and Thursdays (9am-7pm).


My Captain America by Megan Margulies

A granddaughter's memoir of a legendary comic book artist // Megan’s escape from her increasingly hectic home was going to the midtown studio of her grandpa, Daddy Joe—or Joe Simon, cartoonist and co-creator of Captain America.

A Knock at Midnight by Brittany K. Barnett

Brittany was only a law student when she came across Sharanda Jones—single mother, business owner, and, like Brittany, Black daughter of the rural South—who was serving a life sentence without parole for a first time drug offense.

The Angel of the Crows by Katherine Addison

In an alternate 1880s London, angels, vampires, and werewolves walk among humans in a well-regulated truce. Jack the Ripper stalks the streets too. But this London has an Angel. The Angel of the Crows.

The Distant Dead by Heather Young

When Adam Merkel, middle school math teacher, is found murdered, the small Nevada town must begin its reckoning—from Nora, a social studies teacher who gave up her dream for her disabled father, to Sal, an orphaned sixth grader who had a friendship with Adam.


If you need help accessing any of these titles or using front door pickup, email or call us and we will be happy to assist you!

View Book Notes PDF archive